newest

previous

next

archives

......

random!

......

subscribe

follow

contact

comment

Quotarrific!
07.11.09


Hey friends! Look at me, all being updated. You can thank summer for that!

As usual around this time of year, I would like to share with you all the quotes that my students have collected over the past school year. I hope they bring you a little more sunshine on this summer day!

This year there are two categories: "New Theatre Guild Motto?" (quotes taken out of context that could describe the entire organization) and "Staff & Student Quotes" (my co-workers' names are starred for your convenience!).

Let the fun begin!

-----

New Theatre Guild Motto?

Max: "Real guns are scary!"
-9.16.09
(true! that's why we use fake ones!)

Stephanie: "At this point I am willing to kill an audience member to make it look good"
-1.16.09
(we get pretty desperate when we're running out of time!)

Evan P: "It's only a problem if it ACTUALLY catches on fire"
-1.16.09
(um... agreed?)

Nick: "Just because something is 'too short' doesn't mean it's 'not good enough'!"
-2.18.09
(he was talking about lumber, but I think it can be said for crew members, too!)

Leslie: "Everything must support everything else"
-3.27.09
(again, it was originally said about sets, but we need it in the company, right?)

Leslie: "This would be so much easier if I wasn't so lazy!"
-4.17.09
(yes, yes it would)

Elayne: "It's not stealing if it's on the internet!"
-5.14.09
(is it?)

-----

Let me briefly interrupt these quotes to show you a picture that one of my juniors, Evan, drew for me as a birthday present:

So, I totally love this picture. I absolutely think it's an amazing piece of work! However, I was a little skeptical that he really captured "my look". I mean, do my eyes actually do that when I smile?

Then I remembered a picture that you might be familiar with from a bowling outing I wrote about a couple years ago:

As it turned out, Evan's a better artist than I realized!

-----

Staff & Student Quotes

Ciara: "I can't tell you how much I have to go to the bathroom right now"
Leslie: "No! I don't want to do that!"
Ciara: "You don't have to, I do!"
Leslie: "What??"
-9.3.09
(at first I thought, 'oh, that's sweet she wants to help me', but apparently she was talking to someone else the entire time!)

Ciara: "You can have a piece of my toppings! ... don't write that down!"
-9.8.08
(I think I was eating a salad and that was my way of offering someone a carrot. I hope that's what I meant)

Andrew: "Why do we have to do inventory again?"
Avi: "Because this one is wrong"
Andrew: "How?"
Avi: "Because somehow I got 12 plus 1 equaling 25!"
-9.9.08
(sometimes maths are hard)

Leslie: "I'll just call myself 'Leslie'- nobody will be able to tell the difference!"
-9.10.08
(maybe because it's your actual name, Leslie? in her defense, everyone in theater calls her 'Lassie' so I can see how she'd be confused)

Ciara: "Are the audience-abuse lights on during the Act 1 Finale?"
*Mysti: "Yes, because they will all be leaving"
Nick: "The audience??"
*Mysti: "We hope not! The characters on stage will be leaving!"
-9.11.08
('audience-abuse lights' are when we shine stage lights at the audience, so it was a valid question. some audience members may want to leave in that situation!)

Nick: "Look at it, it's sagging!"
Ciara: "Just like your jowls! ... sorry"
-9.24.08
(it's not true - he certainly doesn't have saggy jowls. sometimes I just say stuff without thinking at all!)

Ciara: "Did you wash your hands recently?"
Kate: "No, I am still making a baby!"
-10.2.08
(what a reason to not wash her hands! she was making prop babies)

Elayne: "Are we making any more signs for 'Miss Saigon'?"
Raye: "Yes, they are going to say 'Girls, Girls, Girls'"
Leslie: "In Japanese?"
Raye: "No, in English, but it'd be in Chinese anyway"
Elayne: "In Korean! I mean Vietnamese! ... Wait, is that a language?"
-10.17.08
(oh man, the public schools at work!)

*Ciara jumps off a platform and falls down in pain*
Ciara: "Ouch, my feet!!"
Devin: "You didn't fall right. You need to bend your knees and bounce off the balls of your feet"
Ciara: "But my balls hurt!"
-11.9.08
(classic)

Ciara: "If only we were born a couple of long times ago, we could have had a pet dinosaur!"
-11.12.08
(sometimes I want to believe that there was a brief period of world history where dinosaurs and humans existed at the same time. it'd be so cool)

Ciara: "Is 'Max' short for something?"
Max: "What? No, I can reach! I can do it!"
-11.17.08
(I meant short for 'Maxwell' or something of course, but he thought I was accusing him of not being tall enough!)

*Ciara hands Leslie the phone*
Ciara: "Here Leslie, read this"
-11.21.08
(hahaha. I am so weird)

Ruby: "Most of the people I've been talking to lately have been... people"
-11.21.08
(very descriptive!)

*Everyone crowds into Mysti's office*
John: "Oooh, this must be the hot spot over here!"
Ciara: "YOU must be the hot spot... over... uh... nevermind!"
-12.15.08
(think before you speak, Ciara!)

*Nick yells at Max*
Max: "F#$k you!"
Danica: "No! He's too small to swear!"
-12.17.08
(yeah, sophomores shouldn't know those words! and no one should say them in my shop anyway!)

Helen: "That's 1/2 of a baby... approximately"
-1.8.09
(when you make lots of prop babies, sometimes you begin using them as a measuring tool)

Rory: "I didn't know the Cool Whip was there- all I saw backstage was a bag and a monkey!"
1.21.09
(best when taken completely out of context!)

Max: "I need to contact some hospitals"
-1.24.09
(he got hit in the EYE with a piece of scenery. like the actual eye. I wasn't there that day, go figure)

*Mysti: "Do we have class meetings on Wednesday?"
Leslie: "We did LAST weekend"
-3.2.09
(Leslie gets words mixed up a LOT. she's my prot�g�!)

Max: "Rhyming is in the eye of the beholder"
-3.4.09
(this is the most adorable thing anyone has ever said. especially because it's so not true)

Ciara: "Hey Devin, I think I came up with a cure for whistling!"
-4.26.09
(um, like stopping? I meant a cure 'for hiccups' which happened to be 'whistling'. that theory has since been disproved, by the way!)

*Ciara eats a delicious orange*
Erik: "Did you know that 100% of the people who ate 98% of the oranges 50% of last week got swine flu?"
-5.5.09
(ah, kids are so cute with fictional statistics)

Ciara: "Max, is the toilet in YOUR house that far downstage?"
-5.12.09
(I just wanted the set of a bathroom to look realistic... and I get confused about directions sometimes)

Reid: "Crap, I don't have a family yet!"
Ciara: "Good! You're too young to have a family"
Reid: "No! In Taiwan!"
-5.14.09
(like that'd make me feel better! actually, he was looking for his foreign exchange host family for next year)

Erik: "I feel like you can replace anything with 'poop'"
-5.21.09
(he meant replace any noun/verb with 'poop'. he said it so confidently. but he was also suffering from the flu)

*Susan: "Ciara is a scalding hott mess"
-5.26.09
(I am going to take it as a compliment even though it so wasn't one at the time!)

-----

Despite what these quotes may imply, we really are quite competent when it comes to theatrical things! We had a great year! Hope you enjoyed!

And congratulations to our seniors! We'll miss you!


The 2009 seniors on the set of our spring show Urinetown

.

previous next comment

diaryland

All works copyrighted by Ciara Stella