newest

previous

next

archives

......

random!

......

subscribe

follow

contact

comment

Please Give Blood Today!
05.27.08


Last week, my Aunt Mary Anne called my cousin Martha and me to see if we wanted to be in a Detroit Red Cross commercial. It would be simple, she explained, saying that we just needed to tell our stories (we're both blood recipients) to a camera and that was that. Since I never turn down a trip to Detroit, I agreed to do it. I wasn't really thinking about the truth, which is:

"Holy crap. People are actually going to see this!"

I showed up at our local NBC station last Tuesday afternoon, watched some "Days of our Lives", waited around while other people got interviewed, then before I knew it, it was Martha's and my turn, and it was over in a flash. We didn't get a ton of direction and we left having no idea if we just made complete fools of ourselves!

I figured it wouldn't be airing for a few weeks or months, so I was pretty shocked to find out it started airing last weekend! Awkward Alert!

I think it turned out okay. It's slightly cheesy, but I think that's just how these things are. I think it pretty much speaks for itself (um... literally!).

Of course, I have to share it with you, my online family. In order to seem slightly less narcissistic, since this is an advertisement for blood donation: please donate blood today! :)

By the way, that was not a dramatization. :)

Holy crap. People are actually going to see that!

.

previous next comment

diaryland

All works copyrighted by Ciara Stella