newest

previous

next

archives

......

random!

......

subscribe

follow

contact

comment

Would You Like To Take A Survey
07-25-07


An end to an era is coming up soon- I am finally getting kicked off of my college email account. I guess the university decided that 5 years after graduating was quite long enough for me to realize that I am no longer a student. :) I don't like change, okay?

As a result, I have been going through the 9 years worth of emails (look, it shouldn�t be any surprise to any of you that I am a hoarder!) and deciding which to archive and which to delete. I must say, it's been a pretty neat experience looking back on the correspondences from my freshman year of college (waaaaay back in 1998) until now. It�s like reading through an old journal, with all of the dramas and inside jokes and harassments from the "coming of age" portion of my life. I think I�ll just keep them all! All 30,000 of them!

One email I came across several times is this "How Well Do You Know Me" survey, in its various forms. I also got one recently in my new inbox, and since I had just read through the old ones, I decided to fill it out. I mean, it�s kinda neat to see how my attitudes about random things have (or haven't!) changed over the years.

And since this is my online journal, I thought this would be an appropriate place to share some of my answers. Now, take these with a grain of salt- some of these responses aren�t how I really felt/feel� I think that one of the assumptions of these surveys isn�t that people will share their deepest, darkest parts of their soul; I think it�s more for fun. :)

Hope you enjoy! (my modern-day comments are in italics)


Look! I am a freshman in college and I have a bird on my head!

January 11, 1999 (midway through my freshman year of college)

Name:
Ciara

Height:
5'8"

Lefty or Righty:
Righty

Hometown:
Detroit, MI (or as we like to call it... "the ghetto")
(we lovingly call it that!)

What do you remember most about this past year?
Losing a $10 bet when Sara got her piercing

Favorite thing to do on the weekend?
SLEEP, hang out with my friends, eat

What was your first thought when you woke up this morning?
"Why can't I turn my alarm off? Oh, wait, that's my neighbor's alarm."

Guys, with or without hats?
Without (unless they have really bad hair, like this greasy guy I know- you know who I'm talking about)
(I have no idea who I was talking about!)

Favorite TV shows?
Fashion Emergency! And The Simpsons, Just Shoot Me and Saturday Night Live
(why have I always loved makeover shows?)

Do you believe in yourself?
Wow, um, sure

Favorite Board Game?
Monopoly (except I'm not allowed to play with a lot of people anymore)
(look, I get really competitive, okay??)

Favorite Magazine?
People

Favorite Drink?
Ruby Red Grapefruit Juice

Favorite Sound?
Rain

Favorite Smell?
Pumpkin pie
(good answer!)

Worst Feeling in world:
Fear

Best Feeling in the world:
Friendship

Where do you see yourself in 10 years?
I see myself being given my own TV show while working as an engineer.
(wow, it's almost been 10 years! and I'm not doing either of those things!)

Coolest thing about your house:
Shuffleboard court (all of the old people are so jealous of us)
(and despite having that shuffleboard court, I still am no good at the game!)

Do you have a nickname?
C-dogg, C-ra, C, Crackhead Ciara
("crackhead" because of what I *say*, of course)

Number of times you saw Titanic?
3, sadly enough

Rollercoasters, deadly or exciting?
The best! Especially the Mean Streak at Cedar Point
(hm� I don't know if I've been on a rollercoaster since then�)

Future daughter's names?
Ah, jeez, I have no idea...
(I don't like to make decisions until I *have* to!)

Future son's name?
Chris, Jr. (see below)

Are you a good friend?
Maybe you should ask my friends :)

If you could meet one person...who would it be?
Mike Meyers or any member of 'NSync

Sleep with a stuffed animal?
No, no
(they are always taking up too much room!)

Thunderstorms, cool or scary?
Kick-a$$! But NOT to walk in...

What do you wear to bed?
Just a smile (J/K! Flannel pants and t-shirts)

Coffee drinker?
Nope... I'm strictly a frappachino girl
(hey! I had one of those this morning!)

If you could have any occupation when you get older, what would it be?
Actress

If you could dye your hair one color, what would it be?
Just some purple highlights
(and I totally did it senior year of college!)

Have you ever been in love?
I don't think so... but I do have deep feelings for Chris O'Donnell.

What is on your walls in your room?
Pictures, pictures, pictures, a phone and pictures

Is your glass half empty, or half full?
It depends- what am I drinking?
(ah, so deep)

Pick a song that best relates to you:
"Angel", by Sarah MacLachlan, I guess
(sad!)

Favorite Movie?
"Austin Powers", baby (he's the man for you!)

Coke or Pepsi:
Coke

Which kind of milk is your favorite?
2%! Ummm, delicious!
(and I still can't give it up)

When you meet a person of the opposite sex, what's the first thing you notice?
Height!

Have you ever been attacked by a big dog?
Yep, bit my right thumb� I used to like that Golden Retriever
(I still liked him after he got neutered and calmed down)

Do you save your e-mail messages?
Of course, you all know I'm psycho like that
(this entry is a good example of that)

Do you eat chicken fingers with a fork?
Whatever gets them to my mouth the fastest.

What is your dream car?
At this point, any car will do
(what's that? did you say a black saturn l200?)


Look! It's the summer after my freshman year of college and I am thinking hard!

May 23, 1999 (right after my freshman year of college)

1. Name:
Ciara
(check!)

3. Do you wish on stars?
Sure, but you know about the seven years for them to come true deal
(hm, did any of my wishes from 1999 come true in 2006?)

4. Which finger is your favorite?
Well, my thumb is the one that tasted the best...
(who comes up with these questions? yes, I was a thumb-sucker, but only until 3rd grade, not freshman year of college)

5. What is the most disgusting food you have ever eaten?
Thai food (just kidding)! I think poi, those Hawaiians don't know good eatin'
(I wonder if I was kidding� I heart thai food now!)

6. Would you kill someone?
Hells no!
(I still stand by that answer!)

7. When did you last cry?
I cried when I heard that Backstreet Boy's song "All I Have To Give"� it's so beautiful
(great, now it's in my head. sniffle, sniffle)

8. If you were making a movie about yourself, what actor would play you?
I would play myself, it'd be a hit

9. What TV show or movie bests describes your life?
Melrose Place... you know, I am just so scandalous
(sarcasm!)

10. Do you like your handwriting?
Yeah, it's the only one in my family that is legible
(still true)

13. What is the #1 priority in your life?
Being home in time for "Fashion Emergency"
(before the days of "what not to wear")

14. What is your favorite lunch meat?
Salami! Who-woo!
(fun fact: that was the only lunchmeat I liked until I worked at a deli in 2000)

15. Do you have any bad habits?
Of course! Biting my nails, for one
(still the case unfortunately, but not as badly)

17. If you were another person, would you be friends with you?
I would be honored to be my friend
(ha! aren't we a little cocky! I think it was in jest)

18. Are you a daredevil?
Um, I walk around alone at night sometimes... that counts

20. Shouts:
Uh, I don't quite know what this means... shout out? I'd like to give a shout out to my hommies (you know who you are)

22. Do looks matter?
Only to a certain point. I think that anyone can be attractive if you like them.

23. Do you pray?
Occasionally

24. Have you ever met anyone famous?
No, but did you all know that Nick Backstreet Boy has my birthday?
(it was pretty exciting news at the time!)

26. Are you trendy?
Not quite

27. What do you do to vent anger?
Scream at Dante
(we were living in an apartment together for that spring term)

28. Are you passive or aggressive?
Probably in the middle, I am much more passive than I used to be
(in retrospect, I still wouldn't know how to answer that�)

31. Do you trust others easily?
No... I'm working on it

32. What was your favorite toy as a child?
This is a toughie... She-Ra, the mermaid one. Or My Little Ponies

33. What class in school do you think is totally useless?
Typing. I still look at my fingers
(not anymore! woot!)

34. What is the punch-line to your favorite joke?
"I've gotta leak in my toilet!"
(hahaha. I think I am the only person in the world who thinks that joke is funny!)

35. Do you like love songs?
yes!

36. Do you think your life so far has been good?
It's getting much better

39. Do you keep a diary?
Sure do
(and boy, did I! I used to fill those puppies up in like 2 months)

41. Do you like sarcasm?
I think you should be able to tell by my past answers!

43. Do you always wear a seat belt?
Yep
(good girl!)

44. Do you feel understood most of the time?
No, I confuse the hell out of people
(I think that's still true!)

45. Do you drink milk?
All of the time, when my b****** brother actually buys it
(woah, there! calm down!)

50. Do you keep your underwear and socks in the same drawer or in separate ones?
Sounds like a relevant question... separate drawers, they need their personal space

51. Did you pay money to see Honey I Shrunk The Kids?
Like I can remember, but I did pay to see Joe's Apartment
(yeah, that was a bad choice)

54. What is the first thing on your Christmas list?
Underwear
(who wants to do their own laundry in the dorms more than they need to?)

56. Could you be a vegetarian?
Nopity Nope Nope

57. What word do you use when you think something is good?
How about wordS... kick a$$

59. Would you ever bungee jump?
Hm, sure, why not?

60. Do you untie your shoes every time you take them off?
I am way too lazy for that
(the only time I untie my shoes these days is to replace the laces that Zooey ate)

64. What are you worried about right now?
I am worried that the rain is going to prevent me from going to Stuchii's to get more ice cream :)
(MORE ice cream? did I already have it that day?)


Look! It's the summer after my junior year of college and I have entered the cell-phone age!

May 8, 2001 (right after my junior year of college)

1. What is your name?
Ciara
(phew, it's still the same)

2. Backstreet Boys or N*Sync?
Oh, no, don't make me choose... what would my mom say if I didn't pick Backstreet?

3. When was the last time u showered?
When did we move out of the dorm again...? J/K, 8:frickin:15 am

4. What color pants do you have on?
My grey/bluish sorority cords
(man, I loved those pants. they were SUPER-flared!)

5. What song are you listening to right now?
"Medicine" by Guster

6. What was the last thing you said?
"Yeah, have a nice time, bye!" But the last thing I *thought* was "How did I find the only computer in the library with a broken back arrow key??"

7. What is right next to you?
A cubicle wall
(aw, gotta love engineering research jobs)

8. What are the last 4 digits in your phone number?
9349
(what number was that?? must have been the *gasp* landline at the apartment I was subletting that spring)

9. Random fact: fingernails are made of the same material as your hair.
Yo momma's made of the same material as your hair
(hahaha. it's true)

10. If you were a crayon, what color would you be?
Definitely not turquoise... I would be lavender.
(man, I hated turquoise. what are these questions supposed to mean anyway?)

12. Do you have a lava lamp?
No... too much of a distraction! You know how I already zone out!

14. How's the weather right now?
Excellent!

16. What did you do last night?
Filled out an application for a job I already have... hung out with Derek for like 2 hours... dreamt of A Makeover Story...
(aw, after "fashion emergency" and still before "what not to wear"!)

19. How are you today?
Eh, pretty good... a little nervous... but good.

20. How do you eat an oreo?
Like 2 at a time!

21. What makes you happy?
Being with my friends, making people laugh, Jaime's "Oh, Happy Day" dance, DQ Blizzards, 75 degrees and partly cloudy, volleyball, Growing Pains...

22. Favorite CD?
Guster's Goldfly

23. Do you have any Nicknames?
I wish I had *more*, but... C-dawg, Candacia, C, C-ra

25. Eye color?
Um, green?
(that's right, don't worry)

26. Height?
5'9"
(did I grow an inch that late in life? I've shrunken back down to 5'8.5" nowadays)

28. Siblings and their ages?
Dante, 27 and Davidde, 23
(aw, they were just little babies!)

30. Do you have a significant other?
Yeah, right!
(haha)

31. What's the best advice anyone's ever given to you?
"Don't frown, someone may be falling in love with your smile." :)
(aw, what a little sap I was!)

32. Dream car?
Um, driving... right... 94 Buick Regal!
(fun fact 2: I basically never drove/wanted to drive in college)

34. What do you want to be when you grow up?
When I figure that out, I'll let you know...
(yeah, when I figure that out, I'll let you know�)

35. Favorite food?
Garlic bread from Antonio's... oh, man, it's so good.
(*drool*)

38. Favorite movies?
"Almost Famous" and "Notting Hill"

40. Favorite girls perfume?
Armani Elle
(how long does perfume last? because I totally still have that bottle!)

42. Do you like to dance?
Only at night! And I like to skank!
("skank" = "dance to ska music", just fyi!)

43. Are you too shy to ask someone out?
I did it *once*... well, twice counting the time Katrina held my hand and asked for me! But, in general, any kind of asking out situation makes me nervous!

44. If you could change your name, what would it be?
Bequifa
(wow!)

45. Worst sickness that you have ever had?
3-day-long migraine

47. First child's name?
Chunks
(and I hadn't even seen "the goonies" at that point in my life)

48. Favorite Drink?
Coke from a fountain!
(oh, yeah, that is good stuff)

49. Do you like scary or happy movies better?
Duh, happy!

51. Summer or winter?
I like winter better socially, but summer better weatherally
(see? I've always made up words!)

53. Do you have a crush?
I usually do

55. If you could change one thing about yourself, what would it be?
I would be less tired
(amen, sister)


Look! It's this summer and I am supporting the Detroit Tigers!

July 20, 2007 (last week)

1. What's your name?
Ciara

2. What are your nicknames?
Kiki, Keekkers, Keeks, Kira, Sierra� come to think of it, it's rare that I actually hear someone say my actually name these days!
(I should have been more careful what I wished for back in 2001)

3. What are you most afraid of?
What am I NOT afraid of? :) I'd say flying.

4. What is the most recent movie that you have seen in a Theater?
Ratatouille (and yes, I had to look that up to find out the spelling- I can barely spell words in English!)

6. Favorite food?
Cocoa Krispies and white cheddar popcorn (not together)

8. Ever been to Alaska?
Nope!

10. Have you ever loved someone so much it made you cry?
What does this mean? Out of happiness or sadness? I've loved. And I've cried. Does that count as a "yes"? And isn't this question a reference to a Brandy song?

11. Been in a car accident?
Hm... trying to remember... yes, I think so... :) Maybe 3 times?

13. Favorite day of the week?
I've always been a fan of Thursdays.

15. Favorite Flower?
Daisies? I like most flowers.

16. Favorite sport to watch?
Jump-roping, competitive eating, and basketball!

17. Favorite drink?
Bubble Tea... mmmmm.... need bubble tea...

18. Favorite ice cream?
Chocolate almond... this survey is making me hungry...

21. What color is your bedroom carpet?
Pukey tannish.

22. How many times did you fail your driver's test?
I am pretty sure I never had a driving test. :)
(one year the state got rid of it� who knows why, but it was nice for me)

23. From whom did you get your latest e-mail?
*drum roll please*� Davidde! Now THAT is rare. :)

24. What do you do when you are bored?
I think I am doing it...
(or I do what I am doing *now*!)

27. What's your dream job?
Working on the set of Arrested Development (which would involve the show coming back on the air... but it's my dream, I can dream what I want!)

28. Your potential kids' names?
I want my twin sons to be Nevert & Treven (they are reverses of each other). I also really like the name Annemarie. And I have to pay homage to my great-grandfather and name a kid Fockindino/a.

29. Favorite TV show?
Ah, so many choices! How about 30 Rock (but I also love The Last Comic Standing, The Biggest Loser, and Project Runway).

33. What are your favorite colors?
I appreciate a good cool tone (greens, blues, purples) and of course pink!

34. How many tattoos do you have?
None.

35. How many pets do you have?
None. :( But I live with my roommate's cat Zooey and sometimes I stay at home with Libby (I wouldn't say I "have" her since she completely ignores me when I am around)

36. Which came first, the chicken or the egg?
The tyrannosaurus!

37. What do you want to do before you die?
Cuddle with a panda bear!

39. Ever have a recurring dream/nightmare?
Yes. Many. But lately I've been dreaming about disasters on stage at work- and I always dream they take place during The Wizard Of Oz! And that show was like 4 months ago! I also had a spurt of recurring dreams where I decided to take a group shower and I was always the first one to get in and while everyone (clothed) stared at me (naked), I would think, "Why did I think this was a good idea again?"

40. Favorite band/artist?
Matt Nathanson!

41. What always, without fail, will make you laugh?
Ridiculous things that people say by accident.

42. What's one of your favorite movie moments?
Pretty much any musical montage in "The Wedding Singer"

43. If you could have a "useless" superhero power, what would it be?
The ability to change my clothes just by snapping. And the ability to point to an ugly Canadian goose and turn it into a cute duckling.

44. If you could have a $1000 gift certificate to any store, which store would it be?
Michael's :)

46. What are you reading right now?
"To Kill A Mockingbird" by Harper Lee

47. What electronic device would it be hard to live without?
This question is hard- um... a microwave? How could I eat without it? :)

48. What are your pet peeves?
Going to the bathroom. Such an inconvenience! And I always have to go right when I am in the middle of doing something else! I also don't like repeating myself. I also don't like repeating myself.

49. What was the best moment in the past week?
Free Sno-Kone day at work!
(haha, I am never going to get a real job!)

Hm. Maybe I haven't changed that much afterall. :) If you get bored, write your own answers to some of these questions and send them to a friend- or tuck them in a notebook to find in 5-10 years!

OR, if you actually read all of the way to the bottom of this entry (congrats!) and wished that I could have been elaborated on any of the above answers, pick your top ones, click on "Contact Me" link, and ask away. If I get any responses, I can make a post with stories as answers to the top 3 most-inquired-about questions (even if they are� serious! *shock*). Or maybe you've had enough reading about me for one year. :)

.

previous next comment

diaryland

All works copyrighted by Ciara Stella