newest

previous

next

archives

......

random!

......

subscribe

follow

contact

comment

From The Finger Lakes...
11.05.09


Halloween can be bittersweet for me. On one hand, I love love dressing up as different characters and seeing others do the same. On the other hand, though, sometimes it's really stressful coming up with a costume idea!

This year, my friends Mike and Karen and I started looking for costumes early. As luck (?) would have it, at the beginning of October, I found a one-piece magenta spandex leopard suit, complete with harlequin sleeves, and faux fur cuffs and neckline!

Once Karen cut open the waist and back of the neck so I could move (the torso was a little too short for me, and caused much awkwardness as I tried to walk/sit/lean over without the full use of my limbs!), we tried to figure out what I could go as for Halloween. I mean, a hot pink leopard is a... fine costume, but I figured I could think of something a little more unique to be in it.

Mike suggested that I just go as David Bowie in his Ziggy Stardust phase:

I thought about going as a leopard going as Venus Williams:

In the end, however, I abandoned the spandex altogether (I know, can you believe it??). I bought a bald cap and some baby doll hands, borrowed a dress and wig from work, and busted out my sewing machine so I could go as Junice from the Finger Lakes� sisters act!

I imagine many of you have no idea what I am talking about, so I have included a video below of the Saturday Night Live sketch that Junice (played by Kristen Wiig) stars in. Hope you enjoy it as much as I enjoyed touching everyone with my tiny doll hands!

Happy Halloween! :)

.

previous next comment

diaryland

All works copyrighted by Ciara Stella