newest

previous

next

archives

......

random!

......

subscribe

follow

contact

comment

Why The Long Face?
07-27-06


My friends Kevin, Nancy, Warren, and I were watching the fireworks at a Tigers' game a couple of weeks ago and I found myself saying the following sentence:

"I have never seen fireworks like this! Look at that one! It's definitely a horse of a different color"

(using a cliche made famous by "The Wizard Of Oz"). Then Kevin retorted with a different cliche about a horse and we continued like that for a while, and we realized that we use a surprisingly large amount of horse cliches in this country. So, the four of us spent some time trying to name as many as we could off of the top of our heads. We got the rest of our friends at the game in on the action, and look how many we thought of!


That really IS a horse of a different color!
(and no one dare say anything negative about this picture- it took me forever to make!) :)

Don't look a gift horse in the mouth

You can lead a horse to water, but you can't make him drink

Don't put the cart before the horse

A horse in the hand is worth two in the bush

Two horses are better than one

Hold your horses

You can catch more flies with horses than with vinegar

Don't count your horses before they're hatched

Be well-behaved: no horseplay!

I have to pee like a racehorse

It's like trying to find a horse in a haystack

Before you judge someone, ride a horse for a mile in their shoes

Don't judge a horse by its cover

I heard it straight from the horse's mouth

That was the horse that broke the camel's back

It's like pulling horses' teeth

A horse in need is a horse indeed

I am so hungry I could eat a horse

If the horseshoe fits, wear it

A horse and his money are soon parted

It's time to take the horse by the horns

Don't beat a dead horse

You can't have your horse and eat it, too

People who live in glass houses shouldn't throw horses

Quit horsing around!

Isn't that incredible? And these are just the ones we could think of that night- I am sure there are even more than that! :)

Who knew that horses were so relatable to us and our culture? That only makes me want one more (ahem, mom)!

.

previous next comment

diaryland

All works copyrighted by Ciara Stella