newest

previous

next

archives

......

random!

......

subscribe

follow

contact

comment

Not So Subliminal...!
11.27.09


Happy Thanksgiving, friends!

For your holiday pleasure, I thought I'd share another home movie. :) This one is from January 30th, 1983, right after I turned 3-years-old. I still couldn't successfully count to ten yet ("1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 5, 4, 3, 2?") and my best friend/brother Davidde liked to answer questions for me throughout most of the interview!

This clip shows one particular time in the interview where Davidde desperately tries to get me to answer a question with his preference, while I do everything in my power to resist. I never actually tell Davidde "no", I just try to keep talking to drown out the brainwashing!

Any psych majors want to tell me what's going on here?

Hope this brings you a smile! Again, I have included the transcript so you can also visually see how persistent Davidde was!
(please excuse the tracking problems- it was the videotape age!)


Home Movie - January 30, 1983

DAD: What do you want to be when you grow up, Ciara?

CIARA: I'll be a... Strawberry Shortcake.

DAD: Be a what?

CIARA: Strawberry Shortcake.

DAD: A cake?

CIARA: No! Strawberry Shortcake!

DAVIDDE: She said "Strawberry Shortcake".

DAD: You want to be a Strawberry Shortcake?

Ciara smiles and nods.

DAD: What is a Strawberry Shortcake?

DAVIDDE: A doll.

CIARA: Doll.

DAD: You like to watch television, Ciara?

CIARA: Yeah, I do.

DAD: What's your favorite show on television?

CIARA: Um...

DAVIDDE: Pac-Man! Pac-Man!

CIARA: How about...?

DAVIDDE: Pac-Man!

CIARA: How about... Strawberry Shortcake on TV?

DAD: How about Strawberry Shortcake?

DAVIDDE: Say "Knight Rider"!

DAD: And what else do you like?

DAVIDDE: Say "Knight Rider"!

CIARA: Two... Souffl� and Custard and and and-

Davidde giggles.

CIARA: -Huckleberry Pie and and and (etc) then Goose. Goose.

DAD: Are those all people on the Strawberry Shortcake show?

Ciara nods enthusiastically. Davidde giggles.

DAD: I see.

CIARA: I like the Strawberry Shortcake TV-

DAVIDDE: Say "Knight Rider".

CIARA: -I like the Strawberry Shortcake TV so I can watch Strawberry Shortcake.

DAD: You do?

DAVIDDE: Uh, uh, uh-

CIARA: I watch Straw- I like Strawber- I I I watch Strawberry Shortcake.

DAD: Do you like to-

Davidde goes in to whisper in Ciara's ear.

CIARA: I- I- I like Strawberry Shortcake on the videotape!

DAD: Do you like to read books?

CIARA: Yes, I do.

DAVIDDE: Say "Knight Rider".

DAD: What kind of books do you like?

DAVIDDE: Say "Knight Rider".

CIARA: Yes I do. I do that.

DAD: What kind of books do you like to read?

CIARA: Um...

DAVIDDE: "Knight Rider".

CIARA: Um, I like... bunny... two... a pink bunny... I want a pink bunny one and a red bunny one. That's my- that's what I read.

DAD: I see. Ciara, did Mama go away for a little while?

CIARA: Uh-huh.

DAD: Where did Mama go?

CIARA: To...

DAVIDDE: Arkansas.

CIARA: Arkansas.

DAD: No, she went to Washington.

Davidde giggles.

CIARA: Yeah, Washington!

.
:)

And yet, even after all of that rigmarole, when I wasn't sure where mom went on a trip, I just blindly took Davidde's wrong answer!

I guess I didn't learn. Oh well. :)

Hope you get to enjoy some leftovers this weekend!

.

previous next comment

diaryland

All works copyrighted by Ciara Stella