newest

previous

next

archives

......

random!

......

subscribe

follow

contact

comment

Wonderfully Washington
10.12.09


I think that there was frost yesterday here morning. FROST. I am not ready for winter yet!

In order to keep the memories of sunshine alive, I wanted to share with you a little trip I took over the summer. Maybe seeing blue skies and short sleeves will help us feel warmer? Maybe?

In July, I was lucky enough to spend a lovely weekend in Washington D.C. with friends Jaime and Sarika visiting Angie (my good friend of 15ish years!) and Mike (my good friend of 15ish months!).

.
Within two hours of landing in D.C., I noticed:

1. There appear to be jobs in D.C.
(I really didn't realize the extent of Michigan's recession until I saw the hoards people packing the D.C. streets! Not surprisingly, a few weeks later, D.C. was named "The Best City to Look for a Job" and Detroit was named "The Worst" in a study by the job search engine Indeed)

2. There appears to be a thriving economy in D.C.
(I traveled around to several areas of D.C. and not once did I see any of the "Going Out Of Business" or "Space For Rent" signs that I have grown accustomed to here)

3. There appear to be people my age in D.C.
(Living in the college town has jaded me a bit! I figured that this country is only full of 18-to-22-year-olds and older folks with teenaged children. But in D.C., I saw tons of people in their mid-20s to mid-30s. They DO exist!)

.
Needless to say, it was pretty eye-opening. :) It's so good to get out of town every once in a while to get some perspective. And it was fun! D.C. may be my new favorite city. Plus, the national attractions are free! FREE!

I forgot how much I love vacations! I don't take them nearly enough.

Anyway, I am aware that words are of little use in today's internet society, so I put together a movie-montage of my D.C. weekend for you all. It's kinda my thing now. If you like Weezer and lots of cheesy text effects, you'll like this!

.

:)

.

previous next comment

diaryland

All works copyrighted by Ciara Stella