newest

previous

next

archives

......

random!

......

subscribe

follow

contact

comment

Spectacular Strangers
08.29.09


Last night could have been the most annoying night of my entire summer.

Note: it could have been.

But it wasn't, all thanks to nice strangers!

Yesterday evening I had dinner with my good friend Karen and then enjoyed hanging out at her place playing Rock Band and catching up. When I got my stuff ready so I could head home for the night, I noticed that my wallet wasn't in my purse. I figured it must have fallen out somewhere in her apartment, but it was no where to be found.

I casually guessed that it must be in my backseat (where I throw my purse while I drive), but as I approached my car in her parking lot, in the pouring rain no less, I did not see a wallet.

What I did see was a piece of paper under my windshield wiper that said:

"Hi- Look under your car, behind driver's side wheel!"
signed "Friendly Neighborhood Samaritans"

Sure enough, wrapped in a plastic bag to prevent it from getting soaked, my wallet was under my car! It must have fallen out of my purse when I got out of the car, and these nice people took care of it for me.

It may seem like a little deed on their part, but I could have spent the wee hours of this morning worrying about where my wallet may be, canceling my credit/atm cards, trying to remember how much cash/gift cards/valuables I had to see if it would be worth an insurance claim; and using this next week to obtain a new driver's license, reorder a new health insurance card, etc, etc, etc. Instead, I got to drive home and relax in bed with a good book.

It was such an awesome gift! And trust me, I appreciate NOT having my stuff stolen, especially since my camera and some cash was stolen from my purse a few months ago while I was at work (likely by non-strangers, unfortunately).

So thank you, Good Samaritans of the world! Thank you for whatever you do to help strangers. Thank you for turning items in to the Lost & Found, for putting a few coins in someone's expired meter, for holding open doors, for giving change to someone who's a little short at the coffee shop, for throwing someone's newspaper onto their front porch when it's raining. And thank you for allowing me to not have to deal with a huge hassle!

Maybe you feel like you've gone unnoticed, so I would like to take this opportunity to salute you! You make a difference!

.

I will try my best to emulate your efforts. :)

.

previous next comment

diaryland

All works copyrighted by Ciara Stella