newest

previous

next

archives

......

random!

......

subscribe

follow

contact

comment

Receiving Lines, Part 2
11-30-07


Without further ado, here is the second installment of my wedding speech series. This speech was for my roommate, Karen, who married the love of her life, our friend Mike. :)

------ Karen & Mike's Wedding Speech ------
setting: fall 2007, garden, semi-formal, 100 guests
other speeches: best man, maid-of-honor, trio of "groomsmaids", father-of-the-bride

A little under two years ago, Karen declared to Demoree and me, "I want to take dating very seriously. I don't want to date someone just because he likes me or is cute or nice or fun. If I come home saying I have a crush on some guy, do NOT let me date him until I know that he's got the potential to be a good husband!"

Sure enough, just two weeks later, Karen came home with a goofy smile on her face proclaiming that she had a crush on our new friend Mike. Despite Demoree's and my best efforts to tell her to slow down, it was too late. He had fallen for her, and she was too excited about falling for him to think logically!

As we've seen, Karen following her heart turned out to be God giving her exactly what she desired in her head. As we all got to know Mike better, we could see that he had everything Karen wanted and needed in a partner. And I know I speak for everyone when I say how inspiring their relationship has been.

Anyways, as I was writing this speech, it was hard for me to come up with anything to say about Karen that Mike doesn't already know. He's experienced so many amazing things about her- that she's talented, beautiful, intelligent, hilarious, creative, caring...

Then I realized that I do know something about Karen that Mike doesn't... what it's like to live with her! I have been lucky enough to have lived with Karen for a little over 3 years, so I thought I'd take this opportunity to share some things Mike may get to also experience once they become "roommates".

For Karen's sake, I didn't bring any pictures!

Mike, you can expect Karen to:
-Often trip and fall over absolutely nothing.

-Dance along with Paula Abdul's 1994's "Get Up And Dance" tape first thing in the morning.

-Shout "Fash-ion Show Fash-ion Show" if you come home from the store with any new item of clothing.

-Bust out into song, whether it's a company's slogan, like "Get It Done", or a full-out musical, at any quiet moment.

-Go out for a Wendy's Frosty at midnight, even if she's in shorts and a t-shirt and it's January. (But don't worry, she'll get you one, too!)

-Watch her favorite 1980's movie "Can't Buy Me Love" whenever it's on cable (or, like me, you can just turn it on for her!).

-Get distracted while she's cleaning her cat Zooey's litterbox and tell an entire story while gesturing with a ziploc bag of dirty litter in her hands.

-Even though the light is on and the door is closed, absent-mindedly walk in on you while you are in the bathroom!

And, lastly, you can expect Karen to not only share an apartment with you, but also share her life, her compassion, her fun ideas, her wisdom, her energy, her concern, her humor, her taste in television, her food, and her friendship. You can expect Karen's presence to enrich and invigorate all of your otherwise-normal hanging-around-at-home times.

Karen, I am going to miss having you as a roommate so much. I have enjoyed every minute of living with you and I have felt so blessed to have you as a friend.

But, if you must move out, I am happy that it's because you are marrying someone with whom you share so much love. I know God brought you together and I know He's going to bless you with a full and exciting life!

I love you and congratulations! Invite me over to play a lot!

------ Karen & Mike's (Potential) Future Children! ------

Karen & Mike, meet my rendition of...


your sweet little baby girl and...


your bouncing baby boy!

:)

Part 3 to come...

.

previous next comment

diaryland

All works copyrighted by Ciara Stella